FAQ

■End of the Game
Q: When a heart card pile runs out, does it count towards the game ending when two piles run out?
A: No. The game ends when only 2 Maid cards run out. Maid cards are General, Private and Maid Cheifs.
2009.12.17
Q: When is the Private Maid pile considered empty?
A: When the last face down card is removed, the pile is considered empty. There can still be 1 or 2 Private Maid cards face up.
2009.12.17
■Starting Phase
Q: If you have more than one effect happening in your begining phase, which one happens first?
A: You get to decide which one happens first. For example, if a Maid has an Illness, you may discard a "3 Love" card from your hand to remove the illness than use that Private Maid's effect.
2009.12.22
■Reshuffling the deck
Q: When do I need to make a new deck from my discard pile?
A: You don't reshuffle your discard pile until you must draw a card, reveal a card, or discard a card and your deck is empty. If you have zero cards left in your deck, do not shuffle your discard pile until you are required to do so.
2012.2.15
■Private Maid
Q: At the end of the game, if I have employed more than 1 Private Maid do I get VP from each Private Maid underneath my active Private Maid or just my active Private Maid?
A: You will get VP from each Private Maid that does not have an illness. This includes any Private Maids that are underneath your last active one
2009.12.22
■Chambermaid
Q: When I Chamber a General Maid, do I still get her effect?
A: No, this is not considered being Served by the Maid and you do not get her effect.
2010.5.19
■General Maid - Tiffany Wise
Card Text:
【Love +3】
You may exchange the top of your Provate Maids for one of the Private Maids available in the Town. The Private Maid you get rid of is put face down on the bottom of the Private Maid pile.
Q: Can I exchange a Private Maid with an Illness in my Private Quarters for one of the Private Maids in town?
A: Yes, you can. If you do so, the Illness on the Private Maid will go back to the Illness pile in town.
2010.5.19
■General Maid - Domino Bonaparte
Card Text:
【Draw +2】【Employment +1】
After her serving, you may 【Serving -1】 to send her to any player's Private Quarters as Chambermaid.
-During your Employ Phase-
Return this card to town => 【Serving -2】
-Chambermaid Bonus-
Each Domino is worth -2VP
Q: Do I need to play Domino's “Return this card to town” ability during the Employ Phase?
A: No, the card should actually read “During your Serving Phase” instead of “During your Employ Phase”.
2010.5.19
■General Maid - Victoria Calderan
Card Text:
【Love +2】
Discard the top card of your deck and an opponent's deck. If your discarded card was of an employ cost of 2 or more than that opponent's, you may return one of their buildings to town.
Q: What happens if Victoria returns one of the Estates that has a Maid Chief beneath it?
A: Once the Estate leaves your Private Quarters, the Maid Chief that was below it is placed on your discard pile.
2010.5.19
Q: What happens if my opponent plays Victoria while my deck is empty?
A: You need to reshuffle your discard pile to make a new deck, then discard the top card of the deck. If your discard pile is also empty, ignore the effect.
2012.2.15
■General Maid - Phyllis Lumley
Card Text:
【Love +2】
You may discard the top card of your deck. If it was a card with an employ cost 5 or more, you gain an additional 【Love +1】
Q: Can I get additional 【Love +1】 if a “3 Love” card was discarded by Phyllis' effect if I have already played Amaretto during my turn?
A: No, once you have played Amaretto the “3 Love” card is considered a cost 4 card. You cannot get additional 【Love +1】.
2010.5.19
■General Maid - Lilac Hawkwind
Card Text:
ALL players must discard the top card of their deck. After that, put a love or maid card from town costing 4 or less on the top of your deck.
Q: What happens if my opponent plays Lilac while my deck is empty?
A: You need to reshuffle your discard pile to make a new deck, then discard the top card of the deck. If your discard pile is also empty, ignore the effect.
2012.2.15
■General Maid - Suzuna Kamikawa
Card Text:
【Draw +1】【Serving +1】
Chambermaid => 【Serving -1】
-Chambermaid Bonus-
3 Suzuna = 5VP
Q: If I have 3 Suzuna at the end of the game, are they worth 5 VP total?
A: No, each Suzuna is worth 1 VP on its own. You will receive 3 VP from the cards and 5VP from the Chambermaid bonus. The total will be 8 VP.
2010.5.19
■General Maid - Pauline Dumond
Card Text:
【Serving +1】
You may discard two identical cards from your hand. If you do, draw 3 cards.
Q: Do I need to discard another Pauline from my hand to get her effect?
A: No, the discarded cards don't have to be Pauline. You can discard any 2 cards that share the same name.
2010.5.19
■Buildings - Estate
Card Text:
You cannot buy an Estate unless you can place a Maid Chief from your hand under it. The Maid Chief is put beneath the Estate and cannot be the target of an Event Card.
Q: Can I put a Maid Chief that does not have “Chambermaid” in its title, like Claudine, under the Estate?
A: Yes, you can choose any Maid Chief or Chambermaid Chief to put beneath the Estate.
2010.5.19
■Private Maid - Sora Nakachi
Card Text:
-During your Starting Phase-
You may move one Event card from a Private Quarter of your choice to an equivalent place in another player's Private Quarters.
Q: Can I use her effect to move a Bad Habit?
A: Yes, a Bad Habit counts as an Event Card.
2009.12.17
■Private Maid - Milly Violet
Card Text:
-During your Serving Phase-
If any of your Maids caused you to draw a card,
Q: If I play Natsumi Fujikawa while I have Milly in play, do I gain Milly's special effect before choosing to discard for Natsumi?
A: Yes, Milly's effect happens immediately after you draw, before any other effects or choices would happen.
2010.5.19
■Private Maid - Lucienne de Marlboro
Card Text:
-During your Starting Phase-
You gain【Serving +1】
Q: Does the text and icon on Lucienne add up during my starting phase to give me 2 Serving?
A: No, you only gain 1 additional Serving. The icon is just a reminder.
2009.12.22
■Private Maid - Rosa Topaz
Card Text:
-During your Starting Phase-
You gain【Love +1】
Q: Does the text and icon on Rosa add up during my starting phase to give me 2 Love?
A: No, you only gain 1 additional Love. The icon is just a reminder.
2009.12.22
■General Maid - Ophelia Grail
Card Text:
-At the end of the game-
If you have more than 1 Ophelia in your deck they are worth 2VP each if you have an odd number total. If they are of an even number total they are worth -2VP each.
Q: If I have 3 Ophelia at the end of the game, are they worth 6 VP total?
A: Yes, since you have an odd number, they are each worth 2 VP.
2009.12.22
■General Maid - Natsumi Fujikawa
Card Text:
You may discard 1 card from your hand. If you do, each other player with 4 or more cards in hand chooses and discards a card.
Q: When you use her discard effect, who discards first after me?
A: Start with the player to your left and continue in a clockwise fasion.
2009.12.22
■General Maid - Nena Wilder
Card Text:
The player(s) sitting on your left and your right side must, if they have any Maids in their Private Quarters takes one Bad Habit and place it in their Private Quarters.
Q: In a two player game, does my opponent count as the player to my left and right side? Would they gain 2 Bad Habits?
A: No. In a two player game, they would only gain 1 Bad Habit when you play Nena.
2010.5.19
■General Maid - Claire Saint-Juste
Card Text:
You may return one event card in your Private Quarters to town.
Q: If someone uses Nord Twilight's effect, can I return both Illness cards with 1 Claire?
A: Yes you may. Each Illness gives you a chance to use Claire's effect to return it.
2009.12.17
Q: If I have a Private Maid that has an Illness under my most recent Private Maid, can I use Claire's effect to remove that Illness?
A: Yes, you can return any Illness in your Private Quarters to town with Claire's effect.
2009.12.17
Q: If I have multiple Private Maids with Illness's on them, can I chose which one to return to town when I play Claire?
A: Yes, you may return any Illness to town from a Private Maid you've employed when you play Claire. Remember, players may only place an Illness on a players most recent Private Maid.
2009.12.22
■General Maid - Safran Virginie
Card Text:
[Chambermaid =>【Serving -1】]
-Chambermaid Bonus-
For each set of Safran you have as Chambermaids, you gain additional VP.
2 Safrans=4VP, 3 Safrans=8VP, 4 Safrans=12VP
Q: If I only have one Safran as a Chambermaid, is that 0 VP at the end of the game?
A: Yes. You need to have at least 2 Safran's Chambered to recieve any VP.
2009.12.17
Q: If I have 6 Safrans as Chambermaids, does this count as a set of 4 (12 VP) and a set of 2 (4 VP)?
A: Yes. Safran can only be in sets up to 4. If you have more than 4, you would consider them a seperate set.
2009.12.17
Q: If I have 4 Safrans as Chambermaids, is each Safran worth 12 VP for a total of 48 VP?
A: No. The set of 4 Safran is worth 12 VP total, not each.
2009.12.22
■Event - illness
Card Text:
This is placed onto Maid in any player's Private Quarters, That Maid loses all her abilities and VPs.
- During your Starting Phase -
You may discard a "3 Love" card from your hand. If you do, return this card to town.
Q: Can I place an Illness on a General Maid that has been Chambered?
A: Yes.
2009.12.17
Q: In my starting phase, can I discard 1 "3 Love" card to return 2 Illness cards to town?
A: No. You must discard 1 "3 Love" per Illness you wish to return to town.
2009.12.17
Q: If someone has employed more than one Private Maid, can I choose which one to place an Illness on?
A: No. You may only place an Illness on a players most recent Private Maid.
2009.12.17
Q: Can a place an Illness on any Maids in my Private Quarters?
A: Yes you can.
2009.12.22
Q: Can I discard a "3 Love" to return an Illness that is not on a Maid in my Private Quarters?
A: No. You may only return an Illness on a Maid in your Private Quarters.
2009.12.22
Q: In my starting phase, can I discard three "3 Love" cards to return 3 different Illness cards to town?
A: Yes you may. You must discard one "3 Love" per Illness you wish to return.
2009.12.22
Q: If all of my Maids have an Illness card can I receive more Illness or Bad Habit cards? Would this count as having no Maids in my Private Quarters?
A: Yes you can. While a Maid will lose it's effects and bonuses, but they are still considered to be in your Private Quarters. Only at the end of the game would you consider them to not be there when totalling up your VP.
2009.12.22
■Event - bad habit
Card Text:
- At the end of game -
If you have 4 or more bad habits in your Private Quarters, each is worth -2VP.
Q: Do Bad Habits go on specific Maids or just into a playes Private Quarters?
A: They are not placed on specific Maids, but are placed in a players Private Quarters.
2009.12.22
■General Ruling
Q: During the game, if I have no cards left in my deck and no cards in my discard pile, what happens if an effect causes me to draw a card?
A: If you have no cards in your deck, and none in your discard pile to shuffle to replace your deck, you ignore the draw.
2009.12.22
Q: If I play a Maid with no effect(for example a Maid Cheif) does it still count as being Served by that card?
A: Yes. You may still be Served by Maid Card even if it would have no effect.
2009.12.22